HARDBACKS, BROKEN SPINES,

& DUSTY COVERS
a blog about books, writing, and publishing

December 8, 2018

In the tradition of Legends of the Fall and Cold Mountain, Aphrodite’s Whisper is one of those rare stories that transports the reader to a seldom-explored time and place. Caelyn Canady, a moneyed-class misfit from New York, becomes a castaway forced to save herself an...

What would Hemingway do? Write a story. About women. In the rain.

About 25 years ago, I began my first novel, Aphrodite’s Whisper. I mainly wrote at night after the kids went to bed and on the weekends. It took more than four years to complete and, when done, I was quite proud. After about a month of sending letters to agents (tha...

If it is true that only those women who behave badly make history, can two women loving badly rewrite it?

January 26, 2017

A review of M.R. Carey's "The Girl with All The Gifts"

Please reload

Featured Posts

Can You Hear the Whisper?

December 8, 2018

1/3
Please reload

Recent Posts

August 4, 2018

May 25, 2018

March 9, 2018

November 20, 2017

Please reload

Search By Tags