HARDBACKS, BROKEN SPINES,

& DUSTY COVERS
a blog about books, writing, and publishing

December 8, 2018

In the tradition of Legends of the Fall and Cold Mountain, Aphrodite’s Whisper is one of those rare stories that transports the reader to a seldom-explored time and place. Caelyn Canady, a moneyed-class misfit from New York, becomes a castaway forced to save herself an...

As I was reading, I came across this sentence: "It was as if a light had been Nookd in a carved and painted lantern...." Thinking this was simply a glitch in the software, I ignored the intrusive word and continued reading. Some pages later I encountered the...

I think most of my fellow writers out there will appreciate the anecdote I’m about to share. As writers, our Normal Ship left port without us long ago (attributed to Terri Main). We who spend countless hours imprisoned by our obsession – researching, writing, editing...

In truth, the pirate community is filled with some of the best, most friendly people I’ve ever met. At this point I’ve made numerous acquaintances and several real (not just Facebook-type) friends. So, it is only natural that I eventually reached the point where, if I...

About 25 years ago, I began my first novel, Aphrodite’s Whisper. I mainly wrote at night after the kids went to bed and on the weekends. It took more than four years to complete and, when done, I was quite proud. After about a month of sending letters to agents (tha...

November 20, 2017

“You are a writer. The ‘normal’ ship sailed without you long ago.” Terri Main I’ve neglected my blog these past weeks because I’m deep into writing. Re-writing, to be more precise. You see, I have a book I wrote 20 years ago that never made it to publication. It’s...

Mary Beth Keane doesn't write books, she creates illusion with words. Fever, a historical drama about Mary Mallon (aka Typhoid Mary) is pure magic.

I received a query from a nice lady the other day seeking general advice and thought that others who are just starting down the publishing road might find my answer useful. As follows...modified a little for blog purposes.

Just a quick blog about my successful (first ever) book signing. Not ever having done such a thing I wasn't entirely sure what to expect. The signing of books, of course, is pretty much what you might imagine. But I don't think I had ever considered the impa...

And now I find myself in a new home nestled along the side of a creek that flows into the Neuse River. As a writer of historical fiction, it's like stepping onto Ground Zero of North Carolina's colonial origins. I am surrounded by history.

Please reload

Featured Posts

Can You Hear the Whisper?

December 8, 2018

1/3
Please reload

Recent Posts

August 4, 2018

May 25, 2018

March 9, 2018

November 20, 2017

Please reload

Search By Tags